Taking a break

It’s been a busy couple of years. At the end of last month, my team at BMJ completed our work on creating new patient decision aids for the NHS, a major project which I’m proud to have played a part in. We did this while continuing to maintain and update our own website, Best Health, and to write regular news stories for our site and our clients. Alongside this hectic work programme, I undertook a creative writing course with the University of East Anglia and The Guardian, which is now also drawing to a close.

I’ve decided to prioritise my creative writing for a few months, making the most of the excellent advice and help I’ve received on the course from tutor Gillian Slovo and my fellow students. I’m taking a three-month break from work, and will be moving to live in beautiful Oulton Broad in Suffolk for the summer, with the aim of finishing my work-in-progress novel.

Thanks to BMJ for its enlightened policy of allowing long-serving employees to take sabbatical leave. Thanks to anyone who has been reading this blog. To find out how I get on over the summer, see my writing blog.

I’ll be back in August, refreshed and raring to go.

UPDATE: I’ve extended by one month – I’ll be back at my desk in early September.

2 comments

  1. Tara Montgomery · ·

    Congratulations–and kudos to BMJ!

  2. Cathy Comerford · ·

    Good luck Anna. I shall look forward to reading your first novel

